CattleMax vs Herdwatch: Cattle Record Apps Compared (2026)
Updated Oct 21, 2026 · Independent guide · Not sponsored
CattleMax and Herdwatch are two of the most common names in cattle record software. Both have US-based support, both work on phone and computer, and both offer a free way to try before you pay. This page compares them using only what each company publishes on its own website, checked on October 21, 2026. We have not hands-on tested either product, and neither company paid for this page.
Side by side
| CattleMax | Herdwatch |
| Published price | Commercial $30/mo, Registered $41/mo, billed yearly, for up to 250 active animals; price adjusts with herd size | Not listed on the site; a free subscription and a free trial are offered |
| Free option | 21-day free trial, no credit card | Free subscription with a digital calving book, plus a full-feature free trial |
| Users | Unlimited users on every plan | Multiple users and devices per account |
| Offline use | Not stated on the pricing page | Works offline and syncs when back in service |
| Registered cattle | Registered plan adds breed association interfaces, 3-generation pedigrees, EPDs/EBVs, embryo flushes | Data export to breed associations |
| Other species and land | Pasture maps, equipment log, income and expense tracking | Cattle, Sheep and Pasture solutions in one app |
| Hardware | Not stated on the pricing page | Bluetooth EID reader and scale head integration |
| Getting records in | Support team helps with setup and importing | Support team will enter your herd from your records or a photo of your calving book |
| Support | Rancher-led team, Mon–Fri 8am–5pm Central, 1-800-641-2343 | US-based, Mon–Fri 7am–7pm, call/text 979-612-2913; Houston, TX office |
| Track record | Since 1999; used in 70+ countries | 10 years; 20,000+ producers |
Which fits your herd?
- You want a known price up front: CattleMax publishes its prices; Herdwatch does not, so you would need to ask or start the trial.
- You run registered cattle: CattleMax's Registered plan lists breed association interfaces, pedigrees and EPDs.
- You record at the chute with no signal, or use EID tags: Herdwatch states offline mode and Bluetooth EID reader and scale head integration.
- Your records are in a paper calving book: Herdwatch says its team will key them in from a photo; CattleMax says its team helps with importing.
- You also run sheep: Herdwatch has a Sheep solution in the same app.
Both offer free trials, so the honest answer is to try both with ten of your own cows before you pay.
Sources
Related: Ranchr vs CattleMax · Breedr vs CattleMax · Herd tools by herd size
Cattle record-keeping software for tracking animals, breeding, calving and herd performance.
Pricing: Commercial $30/mo, Registered $41/mo
Price checked: Oct 18, 2026
Livestock management app for recording animal events, treatments and compliance on the phone.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records✓ Price checked: Oct 14, 2026
Farm and ranch management software covering livestock records, crops, tasks and finances.
Pricing: Livestock plans from $29/mo
Price checked: Oct 14, 2026
Livestock app focused on weights, performance data and marketing cattle and sheep.
Pricing: From $2/mo
Price checked: Oct 14, 2026
Herd & Cattle Records
Cattle management platform aimed at feedyards and backgrounders.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Smart ear tags and readers that collect animal ID and activity data.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle RecordsFree option✓ Price checked: Oct 14, 2026
Livestock and grazing management software for recording herds, paddocks and inventory.
Pricing: Essentials plan listed from $0; paid tiers priced by animal numbers
Price checked: Oct 14, 2026
Herd & Cattle Records
Farm and ranch software with livestock and pedigree records, frost and weather alerts, and an AI farm assistant (GAIA); offers a free live demo.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Registry and herd management software used by several beef breed associations.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Animal ID tags, readers and weighing equipment (including Tru-Test and Z Tags brands).
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Ear sensor system that monitors cattle health, fertility and feeding behavior.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Animal identification and monitoring tags from MSD Animal Health.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle RecordsFree option
Free, open-source farm management and record-keeping software you can self-host.
Pricing: Free (open source)
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle RecordsFree option
Barn management software for horse operations (health tracking, invoicing, scheduling); states it is free.
Pricing: Free (as stated on site)
Price: see maker's site
Cattle records app built by cattle farmers; states it works fully offline, with health tracking, calf history and multiple users.
Pricing: Free plan $0; Premium from $10.83/mo
Price checked: Oct 18, 2026
Herd & Cattle Records
Livestock and herd management software for cattle and other species.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Management system aimed at stocker and backgrounder cattle operations.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Scale indicators and load cells for livestock and feed weighing, sold under the Topcon Digi-Star name.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Livestock weighing scales, load bars and EID readers from Datamars.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Animal identification tags, EID readers and livestock management systems.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Animal identification tags and EID products.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Hydraulic squeeze chutes and cattle handling equipment.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Squeeze chutes, tubs and cattle handling equipment.
Price: see maker's site
Herd & Cattle Records
Tail-mounted calving sensor that sends SMS, email and app alerts, which the maker says typically come 1-2 hours before a cow calves.
Price: see maker's site